Skip to content

My Mom

May 12, 2013

 

I have spent weeks trying to think of the perfect gift for my Mom for this Mother’s Day. I have tried to figure out what could possibly encompass my incredible love and gratitude for who she is and for all she does.  I realized there is no material possession that could ever truly express how I feel for her and the magnitude of what she means to me. I decided the best gift might be to try and capture through words who this incredible woman is in my life.

  A little over a year ago, I was faced with the beginning of the greatest challenge of all- the challenge of having to fight for my life.  As I sat in the doctor’s office in Rome and heard the words, “You have cancer” I was simultaneously trying to absorb the impact of what those words meant for me and what those words meant for my family. The first thought I had was that I needed more than anything to be home- the only way I could begin to travel this road was with my family-with my Mom. 

 When I landed in New York and she and my father held me in their arms, I knew that no matter what lie ahead, they would be there, vigilantly holding me in their love.

Throughout this year, I have been able to make it through the darkest of days because of my Mother’s unwavering love, support and remarkable strength. She has taken care of me-every doctor’s appointment, every scan, every treatment, every meal, every wound-she has been there to help me, to hold me up and to keep me moving forward.

Those moments when hope was lost-she still believed. Those moments when I couldn’t see the light-she showed me the way out of the darkness. Each and every day she has gone above and beyond to ensure I kept believing, to ensure I kept feeling loved and to ensure I would be all right.

I am still not convinced if these words truly express my deep gratitude for her. It is not an easy task to know how to thank someone for something of this magnitude. All I hope is that this may help her somewhat understand how incredibly blessed I feel to call her my Mom. 

Thank you Mom-for loving me during times of happiness, times of sadness, times of illness and through times of darkness. Thank you for all you are, all you do and all you inspire me to be. The love I have for you is immeasurable-I thank God for you every day.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

