Skip to content

Stand up 2 cancer

September 9, 2016

They seems like such simple questions, but they are really quite complex. Why do I stand up to cancer? Who do I stand up for? I have been asked these questions quite often the last few months, and I have thought about them in many different ways.
Let’s start with the blanket answers… The blanket answer for why I stand up to cancer is, how the hell could I not? And the blanket answer as to who I stand up for is, anyone who has had this awful disease enter into their life, in any way.

So why is the first answer that comes to my mind when someone asks why I and up to cancer, ” how the hell could I not?” Well, answer me this, what is the other option -should I lie down? Would you lie down, and let a demon walk all over you if it tried? Would you lie down, and not try to protect yourself if the devil decided to break through your front door? So now, if you answered those questions the way I imagine you would, you can see how silly the question almost sounds…It should be crystal clear now, why do I stand up to cancer? Because lying down, was NEVER, EVER an option. standing up to it, was pure instinct. 

When I think about all the reasons I stand up to cancer, I could easily fill a book with a million pages. Here are a few of the million:

  •  I stand up because I know that the cure is out there , it just needs to be found.
  • I stand up because I believe that this disease should not exist, and I firmly believe there will be a day when it will exist no longer.
  • I stand up because there are so many people with this disease that do not have the energy to stand up for themselves.
  • I stand up because the fact that this disease has become so widespread, mean that we most definitely have done things as humans, that have contributed to its growth and this MUST change.
  • I stand up because people need to know they have options when it comes to treating this disease, and need to know they do not have to settle on just the three standard ones they are told about.
  • I stand up because I believe knowledge is power. And facing cancer requires the use of every superpower an individual has at their disposal.
  • I stand up because I believe that by sharing my story, I might just have the power to help someone else’s story change for the better. 

When I think about who I stand up for in the fight against cancer, the answers are ones that are much harder for me to talk about. The answers to this question aren’t things, they arent ideas, they aren’t theories or opinions….. The answers are names. They are names of people who I love, they are names of people I have lost. They are names of people I’ve watch suffer as this disease has ravaged their bodies. They are names of people who taught me what it means to have faith, even when faith doesn’t necessarily mean a cure. The answers are names of people who my cancer has affected; my Family, my friends, my loved ones. The answers, are names of people who are no longer here to stand up for themselves.

So who do I stand up to cancer for? Like I said above, for everyone who has been affected by this disease, in any way. Yet in my heart, when I feel it beating the strongest to remind me to standup, it’s for the people closest to me that this disease has taken.Especially those in my family; my aunt Moray, my uncle Nicky and some of my aunts in Italy. And Especially those who are my friends; Lauren, Annie, Candace, Jennifer… And most especially for my best friend, Gina. I promised her, That no matter what, I would never lay down to the disease, I would always stand up tall.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

